Loading Events

« All Events

Virtual Event Virtual Event
Event Series Event Series: PANAcademy

PANAcademy: IPA: Overview, Symbols, and Usage, Encore

Virtual Event Virtual Event

Thu March 7 @ 4:00 pm 5:30 pm New York

4:00pm ET (New York)
1:00pm PT (Los Angeles)
9:00pm BST (London)
Not your timezone? Find yours here!

An introduction to the International Phonetic Alphabet, or IPA. Appropriate for narrators at all levels, this interactive class will introduce and refresh the basics of IPA to provide a better understanding for accent and dialect study as well as general pronunciation research.

We will a look at the IPA and explore its structure and how it may be used as an efficient tool for orchestrating voices including the use of accents and dialects.

Instructor: Lester Shane

Instructor Bio: Lester’s many directing credits range from Shakespeare to premieres. He wrote for Biography, AMC and Discovery. His one-man show, Mortal Coil, in which he portrays thirteen characters in a hospice, played across the country and in Oslo under his direction. Lester works extensively as a speech and dialects coach.

Target Audience: All narrators

Zoom instructions: You will receive a confirmation email with the Zoom link to your event. The Zoom link will also be available to logged-in ticket holders on this page 15 minutes prior to the event.

Tickets

The numbers below include tickets for this event already in your cart. Clicking “Get Tickets” will allow you to edit any existing attendee information as well as change ticket quantities.

Event Tickets

Registration
$50.00

Please note that classes that do not meet a minimum number of students may be cancelled with 48 hours notice. Students will be notified by email and their payment refunded.

Got questions? Email panacademy@pronarrators.org and we’ll get back to ya!